Choosing how to Dance

It’s been a while since I’ve written a post, so I though it was time for an update. One of the things I’ve missed most is just writing from a personal point of view – and this is at least part of what I always intended this blog to be – so here we go!

To say life has been busy lately would be an understatement, but it’s a wonderful, full kind of busy, the kind that makes you really happy, rather than stressed or worked up. My darling son is growing well, and already loves dancing. At 14 weeks it’s hard to tell exactly what kind of dancing, but if I were to hazard a guess I’d have to say it looks like he’s got the Irish jig pretty well down pat!

Of course having a wee one has meant a lot of changes for me as a dancer. At the moment it isn’t really viable for me to take a regular technique class in the evenings, having been at work all day. It’s really difficult to commit to a fixed time and day every week, so instead I’m going to take local drop in classes when I can – ideally once a week. Luckily I live in a city full of awesome classes, and I’m actually pretty excited about the variety this will give me. Classes I’m planning on taking include: advanced open ballet with Raise (led by some of the RNZB dancers!), senior open ballet at The New Zealand School of Dance, advanced jazz at the Whitireia Theatre, Xtend Barre (ballet meets pilates) and Melt Method (pilates meets myfascial release) classes at The Mat Class, and possibly even some aerial yoga at JoYogAerial. All in all I think it’s going to work out really well being able to have so much diversity.

Of course I’m still dancing at school – this term we’re working on our Stage Challenge entry assisted by 5 lovely year 9s who have just left us for college, and I have to say I’m looking forward to working with them again. I’ll also be coaching aerobics too which is always fun. I’ve still got big plans for The Dance Well Centre and classes will hopefully start soon, once we have the numbers. So there’ll definitely be plenty of teaching going on!

Combine this with some independent practice and stretching and I think I should have enough dancing to keep me happily occupied without taking me away from my family too much.

Leave a Reply

